Dr. Mark Williams, professor and vice chair of internal medicine and director of the Center for Health Services Research at the University of Kentucky, was featured during "UK at the Half" that aired during the UK vs. University of Georgia football game, broadcast on the radio Nov. 8.

The American College of Chest Physicians (CHEST) has announced that Dr. Barbara Phillips, professor of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine in the University of Kentucky College of Medicine and medical director of the UK Good Samaritan Sleep Disorder Center, has been named president-elect effective Nov. 1, 2014. Phillips is aboard-certified in internal medicine, pulmonary medicine, and sleep medicine and is a former chair of the Sleep Institute and the National Sleep Foundation.

 University of Kentucky College of Medicine assistant professors Dr. Angela Korrect Webb, and her husband, Dr. Jonathan Webb, have ties to the University of Kentucky that go back to when they first began dating during their college years.  

While attending Belmont University, Angela, a Nashville native, searched for the perfect shirt to give Jonathan for his birthday.  When his roommate let her into their dorm room to see what color was missing from Jonathan's closet, it quickly became clear to her what she should choose.

In the waiting room at the UK HealthCare's Pulmonary Rehabilitation Clinic sits a large binder labelled "Success Stories." Inside are pages and pages of testimony from patients who discovered a renewed quality of life as a result of their experience. "I can walk through the mall with my grandkids again," reads one. "Most important thing I've ever done," declares another. But certain words appear repeatedly throughout: encouragement, support, compassion, welcoming.
A team of investigators has made a thought-provoking discovery about a type of cholesterol previously believed to be a "bad guy" in the development of heart disease and other conditions. Jason Meyer, a University of Kentucky M.D.-Ph.D.
Alpha Omega Alpha, the national medical honor society, has elected Dr. Charles “Chipper” H. Griffith III, senior associate dean for medical education at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine, as a councilor director on the Society's board. Griffith's three-year term begins at the AOA board of directors meeting in Portland, Maine, on Oct. 3. Alpha Omega Alpha is a professional medical organization that recognizes and advocates for excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine.
Prabhakara R Nagareddy, a scientist with the Saha Cardiovascular Research Institute at the University of Kentucky, has received a prestigious K99/R00 award from the National Institutes of Health. Also known as the Pathway to Independence (PI) Award, this grant provides two years of mentored postdoctoral support followed by three years of independent support.
The Louisville Ironman – a triathlon consisting of a 2.4-mile swim in the Ohio River, a 112-mile bike ride, and a 26.2-mile run – is a competition that would test even the toughest of wills. But for University of Kentucky radiation oncologist Dr. Jonathan Feddock, the competition is about more than achieving a personal goal – Feddock, an accomplished triathlete, is using his athletic talents to help provide better care for the cancer patients he treats. When he competes in the Aug.

Dr. Samy-Claude Elayi loves doing victory dances.

 "It is a real blessing to wake up and enjoy doing a job that I am so passionate about,” said the physician-electrophysiologist at UK HealthCare's Gill Heart Institute.  “I live for those magic moments where I make a difference in my patients' lives.”

 Perhaps the most vivid example of his "magic moments" involves a woman named Rae Wagoner.

New researchers in any field face challenges--limited research experience, competing demands for time, diminished levels of and increased competition for funding.

Though Christopher and Jonathan Feddock practice in two completely different UK HealthCare areas, both physicians contribute to discovery everyday.   

University of Kentucky College of Medicine physician Dr. Andrew Hoellein was awarded the prestigous 2013 Clerkship Directors in Internal Medicine (CDIM) Charles H. Griffith III Educational Research Award, for his significant contributions to educational research as a Clerkship Director in Internal Medicine. CDIM is the organization of individuals responsible for teaching internal medicine to medical students. The organization is a part of the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM). Hoellein was presented with the award at the 2013 CDIM National Meeting held in New Orleans on Oct. 5.
To address institution-wide needs for structural analysis and quantitation of a broad range of biologically important molecules, the University of Kentucky College of Medicine has established a small molecule mass spectrometry facility. The addition of this facility to the analytical toolbox within the college will provide analytical capabilities that are essential for research that will ultimately improve the understanding, diagnosis and treatment of human disease. The facility is directed by Andrew J. Morris, and staffed by Manjula Sunkara and Sony Soman.