The department of internal medicine is the largest in the College of Medicine and at the University of Kentucky with approximately 300 faculty, 88 residents, 40 fellows, 140 advanced practice providers, and over 320 staff members. The department is led by Dr. Darwin L. Conwell, MD, MS, FACG and departmental leaders including Vice Chairs, Associate Vice Chairs, and the Office of the Chair Administration team.

The department of internal medicine at the University of Kentucky is located in Lexington, Ky., in the heart of the Bluegrass State.  With a population of about 300,000, Lexington boasts scenic neighborhoods, excellent public and private schools, a low crime rate, and great restaurants and shopping.  Sports excitement can be found at UK basketball and football games and the Keeneland thoroughbred race track. Great outdoor activities are abound in Kentucky, from the Daniel Boone National Forest in the mountains of eastern Kentucky to countless nearby lakes and rivers. Simply driving through the countryside surrounding Lexington is an amazing tour of beautiful vistas and historic horse farms. For these reasons and many more, Lexington is an ideal destination to cultivate your career in academic medicine.

Darwin Conwell, MD, MSc, FACG

Positions Held:
  • Chairman, Internal Medicine
  • Professor