The Transplant Hepatology Fellowship at University of Kentucky (UK) is a 1-year ACGME-accredited program with 2 available positions yearly. ACGME requires candidates to have completed a 3-yr gastroenterology fellowship prior to this additional year of training.

Program Director: Christina Delacruz Leyson, MD

Program Coordinator: Maria Richie MEd, C-TAGME 

Our program also offers the following applicant tracks:

Dual Pathway

Dual Gastrointestinal / Transplant Hepatology Pathway: 1-year transplant hepatology training in the third year of their GI fellowship at University of Kentucky. To be eligible, fellows need to successfully fulfill all the GI competencies by the end of the second year of the GI fellowship. 

Non-ACGME Hepatology

Non-ACGME Hepatology Fellowship Track: 
Fellows must first complete the internal medicine track. Learn more here

Program coordinator: Christopher Eliopoulos 

UK ACGME Transplant Hepatology Fellowship Program

Mission and Vision: To train and prepare candidates for a career as an academic transplant hepatologist by providing excellent clinical training to gain expertise and proficiency in all aspects of care for patients with acute and chronic liver disease, evaluation and management of liver transplant candidates and liver transplant recipients, to qualify for ABIM certification for transplant hepatology and UNOS requirements for a primary liver transplant physician and provide mentorship in clinical research. The program will serve a diverse and complex patient population in the region, including underserved populations in Kentucky, West Virginia and Tennessee referred to University of Kentucky (UK) as the region's major tertiary referral and transplant center. The fellowship program's vision to provide outstanding compassionate care with a multidisciplinary approach to guide patients through their journey with their liver disease and the liver transplant evaluation process aligns with the commitment of UK to patient care, research and education using it's 5 DiReCT core values (Diversity, Respect, Compassion and Teamwork).