Congratulations to following students, trainees, faculty, and staff who were honored at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine’s Senior Awards Ceremony this spring. 


College of American Pathologists Distinguished Medical Student Award

Melissa Murphy (Student, Bowling Green)


The D. Kay Clawson Award

Eric Honaker (Student, Lexington)


The Frederick de Beer Medical Student Research Award

Zachary Winder (Student, Lexington)


The Gerald V. Klim Award for Outstanding Performance in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Dillon Powell (Student, Northern Kentucky)


The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

Christopher Simmons, MD (Faculty, Lexington)

Emilie Touma (Student, Lexington)


The Humanism in Medicine Award


Allana Oak, DO (Northern Kentucky)

James K. Phillips, MD (Bowling Green)



Doug Nash (Bowling Green)

Peyton Roach (Lexington)

Sheyanne Trent (Morehead)
Jonathan Feazell (Northern Kentucky)


Student Awards


Good Physician Award

Ashley Childress (Northern Kentucky)

Sydney Fitzpatrick (Morehead)

Ryan Hines (Lexington)

Trevor Hoffman (Bowling Green)


Merck Manual Award for Academic Excellence

Mara Atherton (Lexington)

Devon Clifton (Bowling Green)

Hina Iqbal (Lexington)

Emily Moore (Morehead)

Samantha Neanover (Northern Kentucky)


American Medical Women's Association Glasgow-Rubin Awards



Emilie Cornett

Anna Hansen

Virginia Nunamaker

Christa Saelinger

Kristine Shady Lewis

Kate Spencer

Emilie Touma



Emily Koehler


Northern Kentucky

Ashley Childress

Lauren DiTommaso

Ashton Maricocchi



Outstanding Clinical Performance/Departmental Awards 


Bowling Green

Anesthesiology – Alex Schneller 

Cardiology – Shivam Champaneria 

Critical Care – Cole Alsip

Emergency Medicine – Taylor Morris and Jackson Pope 

Family Medicine – Jacob Nanney

General Surgery – Abbigayle Willgruber

Internal Medicine – Jacob Nanney

Internal Medicine/Pediatrics – Chandler Dunn and Austin Matney

Neurology – Austin Matney

Obstetrics and Gynecology – Stevie Hoyng 

Orthopedic Surgery – Vivek Shah

Otolaryngology – Chandler Dunn and Abbigayle Willgruber

Pediatrics – Devon Clifton and Austin Matney

Psychiatry – David Bandy and Tayla Nathoo

Pulmonology – Taylor Morris

Vascular Surgery – Vivek Shah



William D. and Peggy Pratt Memorial Scholarship Recipient – Emilie Cornett

Peter P. Bosomworth Excellence in Anesthesiology Award – Ryan Hines and Clay Larkin 

David B. Clark Award for Excellence – Sawyer Blair and Eric Honaker

The Arthur Lieber, MD, Award for Excellence in Radiology – Kara Fields

Dr. John Githens Award – Mara Atherton

Myron G. Sandifer, Jr., MD, Award – Mariana Arce

Steven A. Haist Outstanding Academic Performance in Internal Medicine Award – Clayton Burruss

Outstanding Scholarship and Humanism in Internal Medicine Award – Rebika Khanal

The Francis M. Massie Award for Excellence in Surgery – Angelica Solomon

The Andrew R. Pulito Award – Krista Spear

The Raleigh O. Jones, MD, Award – Daniel Yun

R. Von Myers, II Award – Eric Honaker

Carey-Cup Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award – David Kelley

Society for Academic Emergency Medicine Excellence in EM Award – Skylar King

John Greene, Jr., MD, Clinical Excellence Award – Anna Hansen

Louise Perkins McHenry Award – Megan Stewart


Northern Kentucky

Dr. Ed Hall Golden Forceps Award (OB/GYN) – Krista Murphy

Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award – Austin Johnson

Dr. William Willard Award (Family Medicine) –  Morgan Sydnor-Cryer 

Knack for Neurology Award – Annabel Moore 

Dr. John Morrison Award (Pediatrics)  –  Ashton Maricocchi 

Bright Future Award (Psychiatry)  – Kayla Riegler Tuggle 

Outstanding Student in General Surgery Award –  Lauren DiTommaso and Emily McCord

Dr. William Osler Award (Internal Medicine)  –  Callen Conroy 


Clinical and Translational Research Scholarly Concentration 



Cody Hayden

Ryan Hines

Olivia Honaker

Dalton House

Bryson Jones

Sandro Pasagic

Erik Roepke

Angelica Solomon

Lucas Steele


Northern Kentucky

Durham Colohan 

Michael Nichols

Giannina Rokvic


Bioethics and Clinical Ethics Scholarly Concentration

Krista Murphy (Northern Kentucky)

Abbigayle Willgruber (Bowling Green)

Katelyn Cox (Lexington)

Jerod Crockett (Lexington)


Global Health Scholarly Concentration

Cheyenne Krehl (Northern Kentucky)

Trevor Hoffman (Bowling Green)



Emma Bateman

Gabrielle Fannin

Andrew Kennedy

Rebika Khanal

Hailey Mair

Virginia Nunamaker

Krista Spear


Faculty and Staff Awards


Distinguished Teaching Awards (determined by the Class of 2024)


Bowling Green

Overall Distinguished Teaching Award – Manmeet Sandhu, MD


Emergency Medicine – Paul Jackson, DO

Family Medicine - Emily Cecil, MD

General Surgery - Darin Passer, MD

General Surgery Resident – Cameron Moore, DO

Internal Medicine – Samrat Patel, MD

Internal Medicine Resident – Cassandra Blackwell, DO

Neurology – Jae Lee, MD

OB/GYN - Manmeet Sandhu, MD

OB/GYN (Resident) – Dixi Secula, MD

Pediatrics - Kelly Kries, MD

Psychiatry - Shawn Brown, MD

Psychiatry Resident – Ziad Ali, MD



Distinguished Teacher Award (Faculty) – John Romond, MD

Distinguished Teacher Award (Resident) – Max Richardson, MD



Distinguished Teacher Award (Faculty) – Daniel Lee, MD

Northern Kentucky

Overall Distinguished Teaching Award – Allana Oak, DO


M1 and M2 Site Directors:

Thomas Carrigan, MD

James Farrell, MD


M3 and M4 Rotations:

Emergency Medicine – Rachel Helpling, MD

Family Medicine – Kenneth Bazydlo, MD

Family Medicine (Resident) – Jessica Martinez, MD

General Surgery –  Zachary Glenn, DO

Internal Medicine – Dhanunjay Boyalakuntla, DO

Neurology – Vinod Krishnan, MD

OB/GYN – Allana Oak, DO

Pediatrics – Meredith Landorf, MD

Psychiatry – Vivekananda Rachamallu, MD


Honorary Class Members

Bowling Green

Steve Briggs, EdD

Todd Cheever, MD

Kent A. Lewis, MDiv



Ashlee Hamilton, EdD

Michael Kuduk, MD

Michelle Lineberry, EdD


Bodie Stevens
Alfredia Mocabee


Northern Kentucky

Emily Scanlon, MEd

Meredith Landorf, MD

Rachel Cooper


Campus-Specific Awards


Bowling Green Campus 

Class Speaker
Cole Alsip


Lexington Campus

Outstanding Leadership in Interprofessional Education and Collaboration
Hailey Mair and Nick Norman



St. Claire HealthCare Physician Award
Makayla Arnett

St. Claire HealthCare Sunflower Award
Garrett Little


Northern Kentucky Campus

Gabriella Smith Award 

Cheyenne Krehl

Golden Baton Award 

Ashley Childress

Health Care Hero

Sister Kay Kramer

CCRU Executive Committee
Ashton Maricocchi – Clinic Manager
Margo Nelis – Community Resource Manager
Samantha Neanover – Research Assistant
Kendal Wehrle - Supplies and Lab Manager
Jessica Schilling – Physician Liaison

Patrick T. Birrer Award

Ashton Maricocchi

Steven A. Haist Award

Dillon Powell
Evelyn MacPherson
Alex Voelker
Scotty Farmer
Michael Nichols