Welcome to the UK College of Medicine Department of Physiology

The UK College of Medicine Department of Physiology was founded in 1890 as the department of anatomy and physiology, making it one of the oldest departments at the University of Kentucky. Dr. Alan Daugherty currently serves as the chair, beginning his ninth year in 2024 and serving as the eighth chair of the department in its 130-year history.

As of 2024, the department currently consists of 36 full-time primarily appointed faculty, 26 faculty with other affiliated appointments, over 50 staff, and 49 trainees. In FY23, the department obtained $15.2 million in extramural funding making it the 7th highest NIH-funded department of physiology in the country according to the Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research.

The department’s scientific expertise covers a broad range of topics from neuroscience to cardiovascular biology and endocrinology to muscle biology. Each year, the faculty of the department provides instruction for an average of 2,400 students in professional, graduate and undergraduate classroom settings, highlighting the extensive teaching mission of the department.

Job Opportunities

Apply to a position in one of our laboratories!

Read More

Sharepoint Site

For internal information, visit our Sharepoint site.

Click Here


To read about what's happening today in our department, visit our news page!

Learn More

Card image

Department History

In 1878 the State College of Kentucky was separated from the Agricultural and Mechanical College. James Patterson became the first president of the State College, which subsequently became the University of Kentucky.