Trainee Poster Session

In order to broaden the scope of presentation opportunities, the Trainees in Research Advisory Committee and Office of Biomedical Education host a peer-reviewed College of Medicine Trainee Poster Session as a part of the Annual Trainee Research Day. This unique opportunity permits postdoctoral trainees and graduate students across diverse disciplines to present their work in progress in a friendly environment for constructive feedback. This session also offers trainees an opportunity to network and learn the breadth and depth of research ongoing in the College.


Poster sizes are limited to 46" W x 40" H


Winners of each poster session will receive a cash prize and the opportunity to present their research in the Dean's Distinguished Lecture Series this May.

All research done in the College of Medicine is welcomed!

Abstracts may be submitted on any aspect of original research performed by the trainee at the UK College of Medicine. This includes both basic and clinical research, epidemiological studies, and outcomes research. Abstracts and posters may describe work that has been or will be submitted at other meetings. This is an excellent opportunity to receive feedback on the presentation of data for a meeting in the near future. Abstracts describing the design of new studies and works in progress can and should be submitted as well. Presentation of such data or experimental plans to peers offers an opportunity for the establishment of collaborations.

9 a.m. - 10 a.m.: Check-in and breakfast

10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.: Postdoc Poster Session (2 groups, 45-min each)

11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.: Lunch break

12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. : A Grad Students Guide to Leveraging Social Media and Networking to Achieve Career Goals by Courtney Kloske, PhD, Associate Director of Science Engagement and Outreach at the Alzheimer’s Association and graduate of the Department of Physiology

1:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.: Graduate Student Poster Session (2 groups, 45-min each)

3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.: Building your Network: Social Media Workshops (one for Twitter & one for LinkedIn)

4:00 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.: Poster Winners Announced and Networking Prize Draws

Winners of Previous Trainee Poster Sessions

13th Annual Trainee Research Day

Postdoc Category

  • First Place: Dr. Brittany Rice, Markey Cancer Center. "Ability + Opportunity: Equitable Training Practices in Science and Medicine"
  • Second Place: Dr. Stevie Britch, Department of Behavioral Science. "Cannabinoid toxicity-related emergency department visists and inpatient hospitalizations in Kentucky"

  • Third Place: Dr. Catherine Chaton, Department of Molecular & Cellular Biochemistry. "Structural Analysis of Mycobacterial Homoserine Dehydrogenase & Homoserine Kinase"


Graduate Student Category

  • First Place: Tanner Anderson, Department of Neuroscience. "Claustrum serotonin and spike-timing plasticity associated with cognitive deficits after cocaine"
  • Second Place: Hannah Daniels, Department of Toxicology & Cancer Biology. "The Role of Protein Tyrosine Kinases in DNA Mismatch Repair"

  • Third Place: Reagan Lamb, Department of Neuroscience. "Role of C. elegans RAPGEF in Synapse Development at the Neuromuscular Junction"

12th Annual Trainee Research Day

Postdoc Category

  • First Place: Dr. Lindsey R. Conroy, Markey Cancer Center. “Visualization of lung tumor microenvironmental glycogen by next generation digital pathology”
  • Second Place: Dr. Jacqueline Rivas, Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics. “Enhancing responses to immunotherapy in chronic lymphocytic leukemia”

  • Third Place: Dr. Felicia Michael, Spinal Cord and Brain Injury Research Center. “Optimization of mitochondrial transplantation via engineered erodible hydrogels”


Graduate Student Category

  • First Place: Lyndsay E. Young, Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry. “In situ analysis of microenvironmental glycogen in Ewing’s sarcoma patient samples by mass spectrometry imaging”
  • Second Place: Jenni Ho, Toxicology and Cancer Biology. “Extracellular vesicles released after cranial radiation contain protein markers of neuronal injury and induce immune activation”

  • Third Place (Tie): Na Ding, Toxicology and Cancer Biology. “Elucidating peroxiredoxin IV secretion via unconventional protein secretory pathway”

  • Third Place (Tie): Caitlin Miller, Toxicology and Cancer Biology. “Adaptation of redox state in cancer cells that survive radiation”

11th Annual Postdoctoral Poster Session

Postdoc Category

  • First Place: Dr. Meenakshi Banerjee, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry. “Endocytosis of Human Immunodeficiency Virus-1 (HIV-1) activates platelets”
  • Second Place: Dr. Ivan Vechetti, Department of Physiology. “Exercise-induced exosomal myomiR regulation of adipocyte metabolism”

  • Third Place: Dr. Brad Hubbard, Spinal Cord and Brain Injury Research Center. “Acute mitochondrial impairment underlies prolonged cellular dysfunction after repeated mild traumatic brain injuries”

10th Annual Postdoctoral Poster Session

Postdoc Category

  • First Place: Dr. Ramon Sun. "Ubiquitin-dependent nuclear glycogenolysis results in transcriptional activation"
  • Second Place: Dr. Hisashi Sawada. "LRP1 deletion in smooth muscle cells of the outer aortic media promotes angiotensin II-induced thoracic aortic aneurysm"

  • Third Place: Dr. Rakshamani Tripathi. "Abl and Arg mediate cysteine cathepsin secretion to facilitate melanoma invasion and metastasis"

9th Annual Postdoctoral Poster Session

Postdoc Category

  • First Place: Dr. Patrick Hannon. “Secretogranin II is a novel periovulatory gene that is induced by human chorionic gonadotropin in human and rodent granulosa cells”, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Second Place: Dr. Nicolás Cifuentes-Muñoz. “Imaging the replication and assembly of the human metapneumovirus (HMPV) genome”, Department of Molecular & Cellular Biochemistry

  • Third Place: Dr. Wen Wen. “Ethanol induces ER-stress and the expression of mesencephalic astrocyte-derived neurotrophic factor in neuroblastoma cells”, Department of Pharmacology & Nutritional Sciences