The following individuals were honored at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine Awards Convocation on Wednesday, Oct. 18, 2023. Winners included those in Bowling Green, Lexington, Morehead, and Northern Kentucky.

Biomedical Education

Outstanding Graduate Student Award:
Jamila Tucker, MS

Recognizes demonstrated continuous success in academics and research and service to the University and community by a graduate trainee

Outstanding Postdoctoral Researcher Award:
Justin R. Welden, PhD

Recognizes demonstrated continuous success in research and service to the University and community by a postdoctoral trainee

The Dr. Madhav and Dr. Radhika Devalaraja Outstanding Graduate Student Thesis Award:
Nermin Ahmed, RD

For a graduate student, entering their final year of study, whose thesis is inspiring and innovative and displays high-impact subject matter research

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Lyman T. Johnson Awards:

The Lyman T. Johnson Awards are given to Black members of the UK community whose faith, hard work, and determination have positively impacted the lives of people on campus, the city, state, or nation

Lyman T. Johnson Torch of Excellence Award

Kimerli Plumb-Moore, MD (alumni)

Lyman T. Johnson Torch Bearer Award

Kendall Noble-Halcomb (medical student)

Jamila Tucker, MS (graduate student)

Graduate Medical Education

Resident/Fellow Excellence in Teaching Award:
Rani Priyanka Vasireddy, MBBS, MHA

Given to a current resident or fellow who demonstrates a passion for teaching others and demonstrates excellence in this role. This resident or fellow may have an interest in academic medicine and provides excellent teaching to others (e.g. peers, medical students, other learners) while also demonstrating professionalism.

Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award:
Nicholas C. Elwert, DO, MS

Given to a current faculty member who demonstrates a passion for teaching residents and/or fellows and demonstrates excellence in this role. The faculty member is recognized as a mentor and role model in academic medicine and demonstrates professionalism while teaching. The faculty member demonstrates inclusiveness while teaching and knowledge of adult learning principles.

Community Preceptor Award:
Marie Dennison, MD

Given to an individual who provides an excellent learning opportunity in the community for UK GME residents and/or fellows. This individual displays outstanding professionalism and dedication to teaching UK GME learners in the community setting.

Program Coordinator Excellence Award:
Sally Jones, C-TAGME

Given to a UK GME program coordinator who consistently demonstrates excellent work in meeting and exceeding the expectations of this role. This individual is invaluable to the program director and learners in the GME program and goes above and beyond to provide high-quality service and support in the role.

Program Director Excellence Award:
Brett Comer, MD

Given to a UK GME program director who consistently demonstrates excellence in meeting and exceeding the expectations of this role. This individual is recognized by the learners in the GME program for outstanding leadership qualities including advocacy, mentorship, and professionalism. This individual works to ensure an excellent clinical learning environment for GME learners.

Medical Education

William R Willard Dean's Recognition Award:
Philip Kern, MD, Professor of Medicine

Award for significant and longstanding dedication to medical education


Irving and Esther Kanner Memorial Award:
Graham Meek

A medical student for high academic performance in the basic science curriculum with excellence in physical diagnosis


Wilson Award for Reflective Writing

Maria Clark

Heather Short

Sydney Short


Team Player Award

Class of 2025

Annie Abell

Mallory Allen

Liv Davis

Wendi King

Madilyn Limeberry

Maddie Mitcham

John Nelson

Alexis Smith

Derick Tompkins

Megan Yadav


Class of 2026

Preston Crump

Reagan Grider

Caci Hisle

Bailey Hume

Jaewon Kang

Madison Meister

Rachel Mooney

Dani Peterson

Drew Singerman

Wyatt Southall

Megan Ward

Meghan Walker

Donald Williams-Stankewicz

Kathryn Zalla


Patient-Centered Communication Award

Saadia Akhtar

Rachel Cooper

Katie Gaines

Shelby Hawkins

Mallory Johnson

Mason McGhee

Alison Porter

Sangeet Sheth

Jasmine Thomas

Amie Woolard


First-Year Achievement Award

Joey Ampfer

Hannah Cleary

Riley Crawford

Hanna Fischer

Brianna Gagen

Sadie Junkins

Mardan Khashimov

James Krauth

Matthew Lemke

Jazz McKinney

Jade Nicely

Makeba Phillip

Sydney Short

Andrew Singerman

Wyatt Southall

Maddie Sturdivant

Vaaragie Subramaniam

Jenna Tinnell,

Elizabeth Walton


Second-Year Achievement Award

Brooke Bailey

Abigail Beck

Lindsay Beechem

Michelle Bosse

Amber Carroll

Evan Conder

Alec Dupont

Rachel Fine

Colton Hartig

Parvanee Karimpour

Katelin Maggard

Graham Meek

Christina Meeks

Brandon Pruitt

Margret Roe

Katherine Stiles

Michael Vieth

Margaret Wahle


Advanced Clinical Skills Award

Lacy Allen

Lindsay Beechem

Max Benningfield

Coby Bessinger

Cali Blevins

Michelle Bosse

Olivia Davis

Stefani Deschner

Catherine Durbin

Rachel Fine

Cassity High

Emily Hulette

Jason Hurt

Parvanee Karimpour

Katelin Maggard

Graham Meek

Darayon Moore

Mitchell Owens

Margret Roe

Sarah Thacker

Katie Todd


Entrustable Clinical Skills Award

Mariana Arce

Clayton Burruss

Shivam Champaneria

Ashley Childress

Anna Hansen

Eric Honaker

Chandler Johnson

Alexandra Johnston

Austin Matney

Annabel McAtee

Emily Moore

Krista Murphy

Margo Nelis

Emily Ranseen

Erik Roepke

Christa Saelinger

Vivek Shah

Katelyn Spencer

Charlie Tancula

Emilie Touma


Academy of Medical Educators Excellence in Medical Education Award

Taha Ahmed, MD

R. Thomas Collins, MD, MS

Rolf Craven, PhD

Gaby Gabriel, MD

Campbell Grant, MD

Kim Jones, MD

Fareesh Kanga, MD

Vishakhadatta Mathur Kumaraswamy, MD

Sally Mathias, MD

Kevin O’Connor, MD

Thad Salmon, MD

Habib Srour, MD

Padmaja Sudhakar, MBBS, MD

Kara Swafford, MD

Hollie Swanson, PhD

Katie Twist, MD

Nathan Vanderford, PhD, MBA

Sarah Vick, MD

Thad Wilson, PhD


Distinguished Teaching Award – Core Principles Phase (Faculty)

Diana Cavanah, MD

Samuel Franklin, PhD

Brian Higgins, PhD

Andrew Hoellein, MD

John Kotter, MD

Katie Twist, MD


Distinguished Teaching Award – Application Phase (Faculty)

Casey Fitzpatrick, MD

Kristen Fletcher, MD

Allana Oak, DO

Samrat Patel, MD 

John Romond, MD


Distinguished Teaching Award – Application Phase (Residents)

Cassandra Blackwell, DO

Jessica Martinez, MD

Marina Robson-Chase, MD

Kevin Wang, MD

Vincent Waver, DO


Classroom Teaching Development Program

For CTD2 - Faculty

Ken Campbell, PhD

Claire Clark, PhD

Adam Gray, MD

Zain Guduru, MD

TK Logan, PhD

Sally Mathias, MD

Padmaja Sudhakar, MBBS, MD

Sarah Vick, MD