The Application Process

The application window for the 2024 Saha Awards is now closed. Thank you to all of the applicants this year! 

Applications are now closed.

2024 Saha Awards for Cardiovascular Research and Education

The Saha Cardiovascular Research Center is pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 Saha Awards. These awards are presented annually to individuals who best represent each of the designated categories. The awardees will be honored at the 26th annual Cardiovascular Research Day on September 20, 2024 with a certificate and a $1,000 prize.

Eastern Kentucky Nursing Student Award

Amanda Walker is set to graduate from nursing school on May 10, 2024. She hopes to work in the NICU and obtain her CCRN in neonatal intensive care nursing. 

University of Kentucky Medical Student Award

Gregory Milburn is due to defend his dissertation in Spring of 2025 and graduate from the MD/PhD program at UK in the Spring of 2027. He aims to continue his academic medical training as an internal medicine resident and cardiology fellow, with a goal of becoming a successful physician-scientist.
University of Kentucky Nursing Student Award

Issahaku Awal is working toward his PhD in nursing at the University of Kentucky. He is passionate about improving healthcare accessibility for underserved communities by bridging the gaps in healthcare, ultimately leading to improved health outcomes for underserved cardiac patients.

Paula Fritz, RN Patient Education Award

Daniel Bodager, RN is a Registered Nurse at Saint Joseph East Hospital. In fourteen years of nursing, he has developed diligence with providing patient education to aid in understanding. Daniel also provides community education through clinics providing routine checkups and medical care. 

Award Categories

  • University of Kentucky Medical Student Award - The eligible student must be currently enrolled in the University of Kentucky College of Medicine and must demonstrate an interest in cardiovascular medicine.  
  • University of Kentucky Nursing Student Award - The eligible student must be enrolled in the University of Kentucky Nursing Program and must demonstrate an interest in cardiovascular nursing.    
  • Eastern Kentucky Nursing Student Award - To be eligible for this award, the student can be enrolled in any nursing program but must be training in a medical facility in Eastern Kentucky and must demonstrate an active interest in cardiovascular nursing.   
  • Paula Fritz, RN Patient Education Award - This award is given to a nurse or team of nurses that display creativity and innovation in cardiovascular patient education.  The nurses must be able to describe the new approach to patient education through data gathered before and after implementation along with a summary of outcomes.  You will need to submit a one page summary of the project.      

Saha Awards Archive

View Archive

Saha Awards Committee Members

Alan Daugherty, PhD, DSc, Chair 
Charles Griffith, MD 
Gia Mudd-Martin, PhD, MPH, RN
Wally Whiteheart, PhD