Our Goals


Integrate clinical and translational science research efforts in diabetes-associated metabolic microvascular dysfunction

Advance Research

Advance the discovery of new treatments for disorders associated with microvascular dysfunction (diabetic cardiovascular and cerebrovascular diseases and cognitive decline)

Establish New Initiatives

Establish large programmatic initiatives

Research Themes and Teams

Susan Smyth, Philip Kern, Ahmed Abdel-Latif, Vlad Radulescu, Alan Daugherty, Nancy Webb, Kenneth Campbell, Analia Loria, Sanda Despa
Larry Goldstein, John Slevin, Chris Norris, Olivier Thibault, Paul Murphy, Anika Hartz, Nirmal Verma, Saurav Das
Aurelia Radulescu, Samir Softic, Louis Hersh, Sabire Ozcan, Sara Police, Florin Despa

Membership Criteria

Membership in the RCHM is open to the broad research community at the University of Kentucky (UK) and will include members from different colleges and departments across campus. Broadly, there will be two criteria for members:

  1. Any basic, clinical, population or community-based investigator at UK who is engaged in research related to diabetic microvascular dysfunction.

  2. Any investigator at UK who may not be currently engaged in research related to diabetic microvascular dysfunction, but is interested in directing their focus to mechanisms, treatment or prevention of the condition.



Dr. Florin Despa

Professor, Departments of Pharmacology and Nutritional Sciences, and Neurology


Dr. Sanda Despa

Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Nutritional Sciences

Seminars and Meeting

Monthly seminars and research meetings: 10:30 a.m. Last Friday of the month in CTW 405