Photo of Stephen Strup, MD

Welcome to the Department of Urology at the University of Kentucky

I invite you to take a few minutes to look through our website to get a sense of where we have been and where we are going. Our faculty is comprised of dedicated clinicians, teachers and researchers who have the common goal of delivering state of the art care, cutting edge research and quality education for medical students, residents and fellows.

Our current faculty members cover the entire scope of urology and each individual faculty member brings a unique talent to our department. Our urology team brings expertise in the fields of urologic oncology, female urology and pelvic floor reconstruction, endourology and minimally invasive/robotic surgery, reconstructive urology and pediatric urology. We all strive to maintain the delicate balance of clinical excellence, dedication to research and quality teaching of the students, residents and fellows. Our faculty members are recognized locally, nationally and internationally within their fields of interest.

The department of urology has a rich heritage. In nearly 50 years since our inception, we have graduated 98 residents. Many have become outstanding practitioners of urology in all regions of the United States. Others have gone on to successful academic careers and four have become departmental chairs. Our goal is to continue to build on our outstanding history. We will continue to offer superior urologic care for patients in the Commonwealth of Kentucky and beyond as well as educate the next generation of young men and women entering the field of medicine and the surgical discipline of urology.

Stephen E. Strup, MD
FACS, James F. Glenn Professor and Chair of Urology