Jun 5, 2021 - After being fully virtual for a year due to the pandemic, we were able to celebrate our fellows graduation in person (with a virtual option Zoom-ing live).   This year, we graduated 7 in general cardiology, 2 in interventional cardiology, 2 in advanced cardiac imaging, 2 in advanced heart failure, and our first ever in cardiac critical care.  We are extremely proud of their hard work and accomplishments.

Graduating general cardiology fellows

Dr. Vedant Gupta (left) won his second Borys Surawicz Award for best teacher.

Dr. David Booth (left) won the Michael Spain Award, voted by fellows on faculty/staff that has the most positive impact on the fellowship.

Dr. Ashley Brunmeier (left) won the Teresa Hignite Award for being the most pleasant fellow despite long hours.

Drs. Karam Ayoub (right) and Gregory Sinner (left) won the David Moliterno Award for their contributions to research.

After 4 years of training, Dr. Dustin Hillerson graduates as our first cardiac critical care specialist.

It was also a sad day as we bid farewell to our Division Chief Dr. Susan Smyth, who is joining University of Arkansas as their new Dean.