

September 26, 2025 Gatton Student Center Grand Ballrooms

8:30 am Guest Check-In | Breakfast

9:00 am Morning Session

9:00 am

Welcome

Alan Daugherty, PhD, DSc

Director, Saha Cardiovascular Research Center

9:05 am

Rapid Fire Presentations

Moderators:

Six trainees selected from abstracts submitted by August 29.

9:45 am

The Gill Heart and Vascular Institute Early Career Awards

Moderator:

Amy Siebert-McKenzie, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Versiti Blood Research Institute

Masataka Nishiga, PhD

Instructor

Stanford Cardiovascular Institute

"Genes, Environment, and the Heart: Decoding Cardiovascular Health with iPSCs and CRISPR" $\,$

Khalid El Saafien, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Molecular & Cellular Physiology

School of Medicine

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center - Shreveport

"From Stretch to Signals: Unraveling the Neurophysiology of Cardiovascular Regulation"

10:45 am

Break



September 26, 2025 Gatton Student Center Grand Ballrooms

11:05

Poster Pitches

11:15 am

Poster Judging and Poster Session

Odd-numbered posters are judged during the first 10 minutes. Presenters remain at their poster throughout the session.

12:00 pm Lunch

12:20 pm

Claire Pomeroy, MD, MBA

President

Lasker Foundation

"Medical Research Today: The Power, the Peril and the Promise"

Introduction: Alan Daugherty, PhD, DSc

Director, Saha Cardiovascular Research Center

1:00 pm

Break

1:20 pm Afternoon Session

1:20 pm

Trainee Presentations

Moderator:

Two presentations selected from abstracts submitted by Aug 29

1:50 pm

Poster Pitches



September 26, 2025 Gatton Student Center Grand Ballrooms

2:00 pm

Poster Judging and Poster Session

Even-numbered posters are judged during the first 10 minutes. Presenters remain at their poster throughout the session.

2:45 pm

Alumni Presentation

Frank Davis, MD

Assistant Professor

University of Michigan

Introduction: Nate Helsley, PhD

Assistant Professor, Saha Cardiovascular Research Center

3:15 pm

Gill Heart and Vascular Institute Award for Outstanding Contributions to Cardiovascular Research Joseph Hill, MD, PhD

Frank M. Ryburn Jr. Chair in Heart Research

James T. Willerson, M.D., Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Diseases

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

"HFpEF: Malady, Model, and Meta-inflammatory Mechanisms"

Introduction: Gregory Graf, PhD

Associate Director, Saha Cardiovascular Research Center

4:00 pm Awards Presentation and Celebration of the 20th Anniversary of the Saha Cardiovascular Research Center

4:30 pm Networking Reception







